home news compositions bio recordings music reviews gallery contact

3 Silent Film Scores by Joseph Turrin

Broken Blossoms (1919)

Broken Blossoms or The Yellow Man and the Girl, often referred to simply as Broken Blossoms,
is a 1919 American silent drama film directed by D. W. Griffith. It stars Lillian Gish, Richard Barthelmess,
and Donald Crisp, and tells the story of young girl, Lucy Burrows, who is abused by her alcoholic prizefighting father,
Battling Burrows, and meets Cheng Huan, a kind-hearted Chinese man who falls in love with her. In 1996, Broken Blossoms
was included in the annual selection of 25 motion pictures to be added to the National Film Registry of the Library of Congress.
Music by Joseph Turrin

Diary of a Lost Girl (1929)

Diary of a Lost Girl is a 1929 silent film directed by Georg Wilhelm Pabst, and starring
American silent star Louise Brooks.This was Brooks' second and last film with Pabst,
and is considered to be a classic by many film historians. It is based on the controversial and bestselling
1905 novel of the same name by Margarete Bohme. The music was composed by Joseph Turrin
and commissioned by Kino International.

Intolerance (1916)

Intolerance is a 1916 epic silent film directed by D. W. Griffith. Regarded as one of the most influential films
of the silent era (though it received mixed reviews at the time), the three-and-a-half-hour epic intercuts
four parallel storylines, each separated by several centuries: a contemporary melodrama of crime and redemption,
a Judean story: Christ's mission and death, a French story: the events surrounding the St. Bartholomew's Day massacre
of 1572, and a Babylonian story: the fall of the Babylonian Empire to Persia in 539 BC. The scenes are linked
by shots of a figure representing Eternal Motherhood, rocking a cradle. Music by Joseph Turrin

Copyright © 2004 by Joseph Turrin Music