Civil War Suite for Orchestra

Buy/Rent Score
  • Duration 20 min
  • Year 1988
  • Instrumentation picc, 2 fl, 2 ob (english horn double), 2 bsn, 4 hrn, 3 trp, 3 trb, tuba, timp, perc (sd, bd, chimes, bells, cym, xylo, brake drum, tri, gong), pno, harp, strings
  • Publisher Theodore Presser Co.
    Score and parts available for rental

Program Notes

Premiered on 2/16/1996 (with a second performance on the 18th) by the New Mexico Symphony in Albuquerque, New Mexico. David Lockington, Conductor. This suite was composed in the winter of 1993. Some of the material was written for use as a film score and it's programmatic style is quite evident. Although most of this music is original there are some tunes from the Civil War period ("Marching Along" and "For the Dear Old Flag").

Approximate performance times are as follows: Into Battle (4:45), Hymn (3:00), The Charge (4:20), Far From Thee (4:30), Honor and Glory (3:10).


For further information contact Joseph Turrin at